The Brigg Bog Man Sunday 17th July 1994

I was recently contacted by a gentleman named Steve who is from the Lincolnshire area who wanted to share two experiences that he had over the span of 25 years. Steve chatted with me in a private call and he was kind enough to allow me to tape our conversation. He is happy for me to share his interview and his experiences with you all. Steve was able to sketch the creature he saw in 1994. Steve described the creature he saw as a wildman.

The creature Steve saw was standing between a pond in the field and the road. There is a drainage ditch that leads to and from the area.  

In the same area in 2019 Steve experienced something strange on the same stretch of road as he saw a dark figure move behind a brick building in the cemetery. In tonight’s interview with Steve he explained both events that happened close to station road. Steve: “It was Sunday 17th July 1994 when I saw the strange wildman creature. I am a DJ and ex radio host and I consider myself a very confident person. This event is one I struggle to explain. I was hosting a disco that night at the Hibaldstow club and I remember it was a really warm night. 

Everything went as normal and it was after packing up and leaving that things went strange. I drove on to the B1207 road as that was the direction of home. I made it just past the roundabout where the cement works sits when I saw something move out of the corner of my eye. It was a figure stooped in the road examining something in the road way. Then I saw it walk out onto the road. It then crossed the road and went off into the field. It was going left to right across the road. 

My first thought was that there must have been somebody injured in an accident laying out on the road and that’s why this figure was stooped looking over the road.  And then I saw it was covered in hair, matted bedraggled hair. I couldn’t see its legs as it stepped out into the road. I wouldn’t say it was hugely tall. More like 61/2 foot tall. What was huge was the bulk of the body. I would describe it’s build as almost like a bodybuilder. And I am almost certain it was holding something in its right hand. I couldn’t see completely as it was holding its hand behind its back as it walked.

Where the figure was standing there is a ditch that runs alongside the fields. It stepped down into the ditch and was at another eye level now as it was much lower than the road. The red light at the back of my car then shone on the fur on the left hand side of its face. It seemed to be looking back at me as I moved past it and caught it in the red glow of my lights. 

Its face was shiny and hairless. I would say it had almost a gleam to it. It was not like human skin. The hair was matted and unkempt down its back. It had remnants within it like grass and straw. I didn’t see any ears and the mouth on this creature was much lower than ours. I was just bewildered, almost terrified trying to make sense of what I was seeing. That was it for me, I put my foot down and drove home. I was still living with my parents at the time and I just remember going home, and going up to bed. I lay there for ages revisiting what I had just seen in my head. I was completely puzzled. For a really long time I could not go back there. Now luckily it doesn’t bother me. I can drive past the area. Thankfully for all I remember what happened vividly each time I pass here. It doesn’t hold the fear value that it used to. As I need to make this journey everyday, I can say that I am happy to do so now. It was very different back in 1994.”

28 years ago when I first saw it, I would have described it as being a Wildman. I believe there is enough land and food resources here to accommodate even the human race. If you know your food stuffs and forage it would be a problem for a large creature to do the same.”

Steve then explained his second experience on the same stretch of road many years later.

“I am a little less sure about this next experience. It happened close to the brick works just off Station road. It was summer when this event happened, I remember it was around August of 2019. It was the bank holiday monday and because I work in agriculture you don’t get many days off. It was about 7.15am and it was a lovely morning. There was no traffic about and I had not seen any people as I drove to work. As you leave Scawby there is a cemetery and it was there that I saw what I believe was a black figure, that was taller than normal moving across the cemetery. 

This time I stopped the car and got out, and looked around. Normally at this time of the morning you hear the birds singing, but today it was deathly quiet. I stood next to my bonnet with my hand on it just watching for this figure to emerge from the back of the building. I waited probably 30 to 40 secs but it never appeared. I got back into the car as I didn’t see anyone else move. I looked for people as I thought maybe it was a person or a dog walker but I didn’t see anyone. It never came from around the building so I am really unsure if this was the same thing or not. But the incident in 1994 is the one I am 100% certain was a living breathing Wildman.”

Steve explained just how bountiful the county of Lincolnshire is. It is one of the largest providers of staple crops here in the UK. Every year people arrive for seasonal work on the land and have done for centuries. There are wooded areas going right out to the coast. There are plentiful streams, dykes, ditches and brooks that run out to the estuary; it would make it a very easy area to move around in times of dim light. Dawn and Dusk is when the critters move and I noticed it was just 10 mins after midnight when Steve saw the figure in the road. Was it simply picking up roadkill or one of the road crossing critters. 

One thought on “The Brigg Bog Man Sunday 17th July 1994”

Leave a comment