I Saw The American Werewolf In London In Real Life.

This experience was reported to me from a lady named Polly who saw a strange creature when she was out with her dad, walking the fields as a young girl. She lived in the Staffordshire area and saw what she described as a creature the resembled the creature from the movie American Werewolf in London.

BBR Witness PD: “When I was about 5 and I saw something really scary and I had forgotten about this incident until I had something shadow me when I was out walking my dog. Something I couldn’t see was in the tree line following me through a local park. As I was hurrying away from the area the memory of being out with my dad and feeling the same kind of fear suddenly popped into my mind. 

My dad would walk miles with me out in the fields and I would pester my dad to take me to a place called Devil’s hole and there a few times he said no but I was fascinated with it because the name is so strange. It’s like a huge rocky hole in the fields and there are lots of mine tunnels and natural tunnel systems here. I had run off a little way up the track and dad was behind me when I stopped and asked him ‘what’s that’? I could see an animal up ahead but I have no idea what it was. But I was sure my dad would. He said ‘come one we are going, that’s a wolf’. And it was a wolf but it was also standing on two legs. I didn’t think it was a wolf. I thought and have called it since, the devil’s dog.

I called it that because for all it had a wolf’s head, fur and legs, it also had shoulders and a body like a man. We just got out of there and said nothing about it, but it really scared me. A few weeks later my dad got into trouble because I was out with mum and I saw an Irish Wolfhound and I was terrified and freaked out. I had to tell mum why I was so scared. Mum tried to explain it away as an oversized mangy fox. But my dad was insistent it was a wolf. To me it was the ‘Devils Dog. I called it that until I saw a film a few years later and I realised what it was we saw.

Do you remember the old pirate dvd’s that you could rent from the market? Well my friend had one and asked me to watch it. I saw the cover photo and that was enough for me. It looked exactly like the thing. I knew what I saw looked like a werewolf. That scared me so much I kinda shut down at that point. I just pushed it away for years until it was put into my head next to the brook. I don’t think people outside the UK realise how when we were growing up there was no mention of cryptids, dogmen, werewolves or Bigfoot. There was the odd American tv show. But nothing in the show we watched here. Some people in the UK still call it the abominable snowman because there is such a lack of information.

Leave a comment